Skip navigation

Hello again, internet,

It’s been a while. I hope you’re well. I myself am fine.

(subject change)

It’s strange, how the laws of the land regard maturity here in the U.S.

At the age of 18, you can drive, have children, vote, and own a shotgun, but gosh darn it, you can’t have a cigarette.  And god forbid you consume an alcoholic beverage.

Of these, though, driving is the one I will address at the moment.

Driving. It’s safe, right? (no)

Well, it at least feels safe.  Mostly because you’re the one behind the wheel.

Let’s talk about airplanes for a moment. They make me, personally, mildly nervous. Not in a rational sense,  of course, because I know that airplanes are possibly the safest form of travel ever invented, that they are carefully monitored and constantly repaired to make sure that no conceivable injury occurs to any passenger.  Just because I know that I’m hurling through the air at 500 miles per hour with a complete stranger at the steering wheel.

But in a car, I’m at the wheel, not a complete stranger, so even though I’m bombing down the street at 40 miles per hour, I feel oddly calm. Because I have control over it, right? It’s me behind the wheel, and I won’t make anything bad happen to me, right?

Well.

Cars are not the safest form of transportation. Actually, unicycles are probably safer.

Riding a shark is probably safer.

Trying to fly on a magic carpet built out of interwoven bees is probably safer.

Okay, maybe not that last one. But cars aren’t safe.

Because of this misleading feeling of control, teens especially are lulled into a false sense of security. They don’t blah blah blah blah (this is usually what happens when I hear a road safety lecture) blah blah blah yadda yadda safety blah blah seatbelt.

I’m not going to lecture on all of that,  because presumably you’ve heard it all before.

No, I’m here to say that you can do something far simpler than driving.

Get a pilot’s license!

You only need to be 17! That’s a whole year earlier than driver’s licenses drop most of their restrictions.

It’s statistically hundreds of times safer!

I mean, what could go wrong?

Nothing!

Leave a Reply

