Skip navigation

Ave, lector.

I have many classes on my list of “things to take.”

AMONG THEM are PSYCHOLOGY (duh), MAYBE COMPARATIVE RELIGION, CREATIVE WRITING, and (now) SOCIOLOGY.

You see, SOCIOLOGY IS ALSO BADASS.

It’s like the inverse and opposite of psychology, and I am ABOUT TO EXPLAIN WHY.

You see, psychology approaches study of the mind from the direction of the individual, focusing on what is inside, the unconscious and the conscious forces, the individual history of a person’s life and any traumatic events that may have affected them.

Sociology comes from the opposite perspective, looking at each individual as part of a larger whole–as part of society in general.  When analyzing a mind/person/race/nation, it brings to bear an inspection of the culture and structure of the civilization they inhabit, rather than the internal forces working inside them.

BOTH disciplines give you a wonderful degree of insight into HOW THINGS WORK.

Being good at both would be REALLY COOL.

THEN AGAIN, at this point I need to focus on being good at JUST ONE.  Worst-case scenario, I can just find some of the stars of the Intro sociology class and talk to them about things.

BUT ONE THING IS CERTAIN:

I am taking intro Psych next semester, and I am TOTALLY STOKED.

AND I DON’T EVEN USE THAT PHRASE except when I am REALLY EXCITED.

/subject change

LET’S TALK ABOUT DRAGONS. 

DRAGONS for me are ALMOST different from ANY OTHER CULTURAL INTERPRETATION of the word.

  • In Asian mythologies, dragons are wise, life-giving creatures, often benevolent, sometimes teaching lessons to mankind, sometimes serving as guardians, often responsible for vital rainfall.
  • In West-European tradition, dragons are fire-breathing, destructive creatures of evil, sometimes the very incarnation of the devil.
  • In other, older traditions, the dragon is more serpent-like, with roles varying from guardian (Egypt) to rain-bringer (Australia), to creator (Aztec; Quetzalcoatl).  (I am deliberately interpreting Quetzalcoatl as a dragon).
SO, you may ask, GIVEN THIS, what is my perception of the dragon?
WELL.
THAT’S why I am writing this post, so that I can share that with you.
TO ME, dragons are important. HOW OR WHY I am not quite sure, but they are.  I don’t do the whole ‘spirit animal’ thing, but if someone asked me what my spirit animal was I would say dragon (a) because it would be kinda true and (b) to get them to stop talking about spirit animals.
I’ve written many stories (and outlined many more) which involve dragons.  Indeed, dragons appear in LITERALLY EVERY STORY at some point or another, in some form or another.  In some cases they are an alien species, in some cases relics of a forgotten time, IN SOME CASES BOTH, but they always show up.
SO rather than trying to INFLICT A COHERENT DEFINITION on you, I’ll just throw out my ‘facts’ about my dragons.  My psychic reality, if you will.  Unless otherwise noted, THIS is what I am referring to when I mean a DRAGON.
FOUR LEGS/WINGS/LOTS OF TEETH:  Of all the dragons in the world, it is the western one that most appeals to me. BUT, to take this in AN ABSURDLY NERDY DIRECTION, these aren’t lizards: their feet stand directly under them, with a hip and body construction more similar to dinosaurs OR LARGE, PREDATORY CATS.

EYES:  Dragons’ eyes vary from tale to tale in my wonderful special world(s?), but some things remain the same, and these few consistencies are: Dragons’ eyes glow. Whether it’s from reflected light, inner magic, or some other third thing, their eyes glow, often with a mesmerizing iridescence that can hypnotise an unwary minor character.  And those eyes see more than just visual things–dragons have the piercing intuition of a master psychologist, able to analyse the mental layout of an individual in a few minutes of observation.

INTELLECT:  Dragons are smart.  Some of them pretend not to be, some are forgetful or rash, but all dragons are intelligent.  Their emotions run deep.  Oh, and when I say ‘intelligent’ I don’t mean ‘slightly clever.’  I mean ‘look at your shoes and deduce what you had for breakfast’ intelligent. Literal Sherlock Holmes-level function.

MORALITY/PERSONAL SAFETY:  To paraphrase/bastardize a line from C.S. Lewis’ Narnia books, dragons are not tame animals.  They are not necessarily evil, and not necessarily good.  In a sense, they rather echo the old Greek pantheon, with emotions much stronger and reactions more violent than mortals.  The description I would best apply to dragons is amoral; that is to say, dragons operate outside of human moral strictures.  A more dramatic way would be to say that most dragons are high-functioning sociopaths.

FIRE: Dragons breathe it.  Sometimes it’s lightning, or a superconductive spray of acid, but it always burns.  A LOT.

MAGIC: They have it.  Magic, mind powers, advanced technology, OR ALL THREE AT ONCE.

TO SUM UP THE CONCEPT: For me, dragons are not ‘friends’ or ‘guardians’ or ‘evil,’ they are something above that.  When I think of something that is PRIMAL and POWERFUL (I use the word POTENT frequently), I think of a dragon, not SUPERMAN.  Where most people would be prompted to think of GANDALF, I think of SMAUG as being able to occupy the same role.

(WHICH WOULD HAVE MADE LORD OF THE RINGS KICK SO MUCH MORE ASS).

SO.

There’s my definition of dragons. WHAT IS YOURS?  There’s a comment section. USE IT.   I have twelve readers, I expect AT LEAST ONE RESPONSE.

EVEN IF ALL YOU DO IS GIVE ME A FIST BUMP THE NEXT TIME YOU SEE ME.

YES GODDAMIT THAT WAS DIRECTED AT YOU.

IN OTHER NEWS: http://news.discovery.com/space/have-you-really-seen-the-sun-110928.html

WELL, THERE’S YOUR DOSE OF ASTRONOMY FOR THE DAY.

HERE ARE THE TWO SONGS I AM GOING TO LISTEN TO NOW. YOU WILL NOTICE THAT BOTH ARE BY MUSE.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qi0XGqFt3Es

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YfRQXIJ3fEM&feature=related

I HAVE TO GO DO CONSTRUCTIVE THINGS NOW.

THAT IS ALL.

VALE, LECTOR.

Leave a Reply

