Skip navigation

Well, magic happened today.  I had an essay to write, so I sat down and wrote it. 

But while I was writing, an interesting thing happened–something that doesn’t always happen when I start writing something.

You see, when I start writing something, usually the sentences are slow to come.  I need to think about each one.  And then I get into the flow, into the rhythm of the thing, and suddenly I have paragraph upon paragraph about why this particular 16th-century Frenchman was so loveable and wonderful and I have NO IDEA WHERE IT CAME FROM.

Well, I tell a lie, actually.  I remember where it came from–in fact, I had the idea when I sat down to write.  But it took a while to kick the brain into gear.

Yesterday, for example, writing a different essay was like surfing on treacle–slow, tedious, irritating, and full of the fear that honey-sharks were slowly closing in on me.  It took me hours to write two pages.  Today it took me half that to write four.

Proving once again that the human brain is, to paraphrase psychologists, FULL OF WEIRD SHIT.

IN OTHER NEWS

I wrote something about the death penalty, but I am not certain if I should post it here or not.  I probably will end up posting it here eventually in a moment of “Ahhh f*** it,” but for now I’ll just hold on to my precious, precious doubts.

The weather here is ridiculously nice right now.  Nothing would be better than to open up my window to the sun and the wind.  But do you know what is clinging to my screen? A METRIC ASSLOAD OF LEAF HOPPERS.

“Let us in……..”

So I can’t really do THAT.

GOD DAMMIT LEAFHOPPERS, YOU RUIN EVERYTHING.

OH WELL.

I will not permit them to ruin my day, though. Why? Because IT’S THE BEST DAY EVER.

AND THAT’S A FACT.

Know what else is a fact?

I still have ONE MORE ESSAY to draft!

Note:

To properly view this image, please go to this song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EUssRQ9YxBE&feature=related. Also note that this song is suitable for making your homework awesome.

THAT IS ALL.

FOR NOW.

Leave a Reply

