Skip navigation

Even though I’m never there (I’m not there now), there’s a reason I love Starbucks.  And it’s similar to the reason I like libraries.

Well, not completely similar.  One reason I like libraries is of course the books.  SO MANY BOOKS.  I love books.  You can tell I’m a nerd just by how excited I get in the presence of books.  I would probably implode if I were ever to own a house with a library, and it would be on a regular basis because BOOKS.

ER

MAH

GERD

BERKS

But I digress.

I like coffeeshops because of the PEOPLE.

Maybe it’s coincidence, but about 75% of the baristas I meet (and most of the baristas I personally know) tend to be REALLY AWESOME PEOPLE.  Not just awesome in a hyperbolic sense, of course, but awesome in a “I’m going to go save Columbian orphans from wild dogs by cage-fighting piranhas and drug dealers” kind of way.

Did you like how I made it sound like I know a lot of baristas?  I thought that was clever.

ANYWAY.

I think it’s important to have random conversations with absolute strangers.  In an age where our social interaction has the potential to be increasingly digitized, it’s important to not forget that we meet people by meeting people.  This is of course not a problem that baristas have—in fact, one might say it is a problem that falls exclusively into the sphere of “nerd world problems.”

But nerds are smart.  And funny.  And they’re great conversationalists, once they get started, because ‘nerd’ is sometimes used interchangeably with ‘introvert,’ at least by me.

And if you’re saying “well hey not all nerds are funny,” shush.  I’m making a sweeping generalization here, and I don’t appreciate your ‘facts’ and stuff.

SO SOMETHING HAPPENED THE OTHER DAY.

Normally my life in summer consists of the following:

Write.

Go for a hike.

Volunteer at local library.

Work out.

Play Skyrim.

Watch movies.

Eat.

Repeat.  (sleep optional)

However, I had a friend over this summer, and for nine whole days my life looked more like this:

Write

Hike

Volunteer

Exercise

Beach

Party

Watch movie

More party

Eat

Tour a small town

Meet up with old friend

Stroll through groves of majestic Coastal Oaks

Beach (again)

“Exercise.”

(my barista friend knows what the quotations are for)

Play piano

Write some more

Party

(sleep minimal)

I reverted to a state of existence similar to what happens when I’m in college: My video game time vanished (or became minimal, to be more accurate), replaced by time spent interacting with THE WORLD.

The takeaway:

I NEED TO MINIMIZE MY VIDEO GAME TIME.

The catch:

SKYRIM.

 

Hence, this blog post.  AS I BEGIN TO BREAK AWAY FROM SKYRIM.

MARA HAVE MERCY ON MY SOUL.

So the TAKEAWAY for this blog post:

It’s time to POWER UP.  Because I’ve got a new school year coming soon and I don’t want to just hit it running, I want to hit it full-speed, Hulked out, screaming FUS RO DAH at the top of my lungs.

(theme song)

(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cQ2upmBV13c&feature=relmfu)

I’M BACK FROM TAMRIEL.

AND I’VE BROUGHT THE WABBAJACK.

COMING SOON:

More refreshing and witty writing about THE WORLD AND POLITICS.  I’ll be without internet for the next several weeks, so that should help.  But, you may well ask, how will I upload new posts without internet?

WELL, I HAVE NO IDEA.  But I don’t care, because if there’s one thing I’ve learned from the events of this summer:

When I unplug and actually do things, SH*T GETS DONE.   Even the RIDICULOUSLY IMPRACTICAL THINGS.

So.

Cyran salis thiir. 

One Comment

  1. I totally agree with this statement. Instead of playing Skyrim, take any and all invitations, no matter how loosely they are cloaked in “invitation dress”, to join another person in an activity. Every activity, work or play, is better when it’s shared, and it is better than looking, hunched over, at a small, cold, flat screen.

    Here’s hoping you make it out of ‘Skyrim’ . . . .


Leave a Reply

